1294CD Rough Guide to ... Irish Music (3rd edn.)

(£8.34 inc Vat)
Add to wish list

1294CD Rough Guide to Irish Music.

The music of Ireland is a tradition that is alive and kicking. Right the way across the country music fills every corner of life – warm pubs bubble with musicians taking part in impromptu seisúns and rousing late-night sing-songs are commonplace.

This album features musicians old and new, from Waterford to Donegal and Kerry to Belfast.

It includes a second, bonus CD 'Six Days In Down' on which John McSherry, the masterful uilleann piper, and fiddle virtuoso Dónal O’Connor join forces with the globetrotting slide guitarist Bob Brozman.

Track listing:

  • The Unwanted: The Duke Of Leinster/Gardiner's/John Stenson's #2
  • Solas: A Sailor’s Life
  • Altan: Tommy Potts' Slip Jig
  • Karan Casey and John Doyle: The Bay of Biscay
  • Brendan Mulholland: The King of the Pipers/Behind the Haystack/The Maid on the Green
  • Jack Talty and Cormac Begley: Paddy Cronin's/If I Had a Wife
  • Andy Irvine: The Close Shave/East At Glendart
  • Brock McGuire Band: Moving Cloud
  • Iarla Ó Lionáird: The Heart of the World
  • Sharon Shannon: Neckbelly
  • Fidil: Kiss the Maid behind the Byre/Tá Do Mhargadh Déanta
  • Gráinne Holland: Dónal na Gréine
  • Dermot Byrne And Floriane Blancke: Sore Point
  • Hugh Healy and Michael ‘Blackie’ O’Connell: The Hut Of Staten Island/The Deil Among The Tailors
  • Brian Finnegan: Belfast: Back to Belfast/Anne Lacey/Eroticon VI
  • At First Light: The Pipers Of Roguery
  • T With The Maggies: Wedding Dress

Disc 2 - 'Six Days in Down'

  • Hardiman The Fiddler
  • Brelydian
  • A Mháire Bruineall
  • Portaferry Swing
  • Róise Na BhFonn - Tuneful Rose
  • Pota Mór Fataí
  • The Slide From Grace
  • Bean An Fhir Ruaidh - The Red Haired Man’s Wife
  • Beer Belly Dancing
  • The Beauty Spot
  • Cailleach A Shúsa - The Hag In The Blanket