Tel: 0345 230 0455

1261CD Rough Guide to English Folk

(£8.34 inc Vat)
In stock
Add to wish list

1261CD The Rough Guide to English Folk. Double CD set.

A new generation of artists from Bellowhead to Eliza Carthy has taken English folk by the scruff of the neck. This Rough Guide is a vibrant celebration of this new golden age of English folk music.

Disc 1:

  • Bellowhead: Yarmouth Town
  • Emily Portman: Tongue-Tied
  • Ian King: Adieu To Old England
  • Kathryn Tickell: The Wedding/Because He Was A Bonny Lad
  • Pete Coe: Byker Hill
  • The Imagined Village: My Son John
  • Bob & Ron Copper: The Sweet Primroses
  • Nancy Wallace: The Welcome Sailor
  • Andy Cutting: Charlie/Come Back
  • Chris Wood: Lord Bateman
  • Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson: Bonaparte's Lament
  • Marry Waterson & Oliver Knight: Revoiced
  • Jason Steel: The False Bride
  • The Old Swan Band: Walter Bulwer's No. 2 & 1
  • Bella Hardy: The Herring Girl
  • Shirley Collins: Just As The Tide Was Flowing
  • Dalla: Bishop's Jig/No Song No Supper

Disc 2 bonus CD by Coope, Boyes & Simpson:

  • The Forward March
  • Horkstow Grange
  • Fairground Attraction
  • Uttoxeter Souling Song
  • Heaven’s Waiting Room
  • John Barleycorn
  • Living It Up
  • The Sea Must Have An Ending
  • The River Flows
  • Twenty-Four Seven
  • Cold Coast Of Iceland/Three Ships
  • Shuffling Jack
  • Since The Exodus Began
  • Shallow Brown